Persons with an intellectual disability or autism spectrum disorder also die by suicide. But tools are available to help prevent it.

This website presents key information and clinical tools to contribute to suicide prevention with persons living with an intellectual disability (ID) or autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and to raise awareness, understand suicide risk in persons with an ID or ASD, screen for at-risk persons, manage a suicidal episode and reduce long-term suicide risk.

IDAS Process: A collection of clinical tools to support clinical process and interventions with people presenting intellectual disability (ID) or autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and displaying suicidal behaviours.

The IDAS process aims to support the clinical judgement of those working in suicide prevention and with people with ID or ASD and presenting suicidal behaviours (ideations, plans, attempts) and related manifestations (cognitive, emotional, psychiatric, behavioural, physiological, social).

The IDAS Process is intended for professionals working in the field of intellectual and developmental disability rehabilitation, in community organisations or in suicide prevention.

Training (in French only) is offered by the Service québécois d’excellence en troubles graves du comportement (SQETGC) starting in the Fall of 2020. Visit their website for further details!

 

Main components of the IDAS Process

  • Understanding Suicide Risk: Suicidality is a complex process that must be understood in order to intervene properly. The suicide-related manifestations (MAAS) are part of a dynamic process fueled by a person’s history, vulnerabilities, current situation and a cognitive and interactional construction of suicidality. This model of suicidal behavior underlies the whole IDAS Process and all clinical tools.
  • Screening / Identifying a person at risk: This first crucial step in suicide risk management aims to adequately screen a person experiencing distress and displaying suicidal behaviour in order to take them seriously and develop an intervention adapted to their needs. This screening is done by professionals, educators, teachers, or relatives that are in regular contact with the person and are in a position to note changes in behavior revealing the person’s distress.
Une journée dans la vie Chiara. Jeune autiste de la maison de TED. Prise en charge par son AVS Sabrina à l'école et dans sa vie de tous les jours. Projet sociabiliser Sabrina au maximum.
  • Managing the suicidal episode: Once a person has been identified as displaying suicide-related manifestations or behaviors, an in-depth analysis of the situation and danger assessment must be made. This assessment serves as the foundation for all subsequent interventions to ensure safety, reduce suicidal ideations, distress and the danger of suicidal behaviors. The management of a suicidal episode is done by professionals trained in using clinical tools.
  • Reducing suicide risk: Once the suicidal episode is under control, it is important to understand how the suicidal process developed in the person (risk and protective factors present, as well as cognitive, emotional and interactional processes at play). Reducing suicide risk also involves intervening in the long term to reduce the risk of future suicide-related manifestations (MAAS) and suicidal behavior. The ai mis to increase the wellbeing and reduce the distress experienced by the person. The long-term suicide risk reduction is done by the multidisciplinary clinical team working with the person.

 

The IDAS Process cannot replace clinical judgement. It aims to support and complement it. It constitutes a framework for identifying relevant information and guide the clinical decision-making on the level of danger and on the adequate interventions to put in place.

Get the translated and updated version of the IDAS Process: Clinical Suicide Prevention Process with People Presenting an ID or ASD. A collection of clinical tools to support interventions with people presenting ID or ASD and displaying suicidal behaviours.

Le suicide chez les personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA, ça existe. Heureusement, des outils sont disponibles pour aider à le prévenir.

Processus AUDIS: un processus de soutien à la décision clinique pour prévenir le suicide chez les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle (DI) ou un trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA).

Le Processus AUDIS vise à soutenir le jugement clinique des intervenants dans la prévention du suicide auprès de personnes présentant une déficience intellectuelle (DI) ou un trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA) et ayant des manifestations associées au suicide.

Il est destiné aux intervenants qui travaillent dans le domaine de la réadaptation, en milieu communautaire ou dans le domaine de la prévention du suicide.

Des formations sont offertes par le Service québécois d’excellence en troubles graves du comportement (SQETGC) à partir de l’automne 2020. Visitez leur site pour plus de détails!
Composantes du Processus AUDIS
  • Comprendre le risque suicidaire: La suicidalité est un processus complexe qu’il est nécessaire de comprendre pour intervenir adéquatement. Le modèle dynamique du suicide chez les personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA propose de comprendre les manifestations associées au suicide (MAAS) comme faisant partie d’un processus dynamique alimenté par l’histoire de la personne, ses vulnérabilités, sa situation actuelle et une construction cognitive et interactionnelle de la suicidalité. Le modèle sous-tend les outils cliniques.
  • Repérer une personne à risque: Avant de penser à gérer adéquatement un épisode suicidaire, il faut d’abord identifier une personne ayant des comportements suicidaires. Le repérage vise à identifier, dans les contextes habituels de vie quotidienne, les personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA présentant de la détresse, des pensées ou des comportements suicidaires. Le repérage est effectué par des intervenants, des éducateurs, des enseignants, des proches qui sont en contact régulier avec la personne et peuvent observer des changements indiquant la détresse.
Une journée dans la vie Chiara. Jeune autiste de la maison de TED. Prise en charge par son AVS Sabrina à l'école et dans sa vie de tous les jours. Projet sociabiliser Sabrina au maximum.
  • Gérer l’épisode suicidaire: Suite au repérage, il est important d’effectuer une analyse en profondeur de la situation, estimer le niveau de risque, puis intervenir pour réduire les idéations suicidaires, la détresse et le niveau de danger des comportements suicidaires. La gestion d’un épisode suicidaire se fait par des intervenants formés adéquatement à l’utilisation des outils cliniques.
  • Réduire le risque suicidaire: Une fois l’épisode suicidaire contrôlé, il est important de comprendre comment s’est construit le risque suicidaire (facteurs de risque, de protection, processus cognitifs, émotionnels et interactionnels en jeu) et intervenir à long terme pour réduire le risque que des manifestations associées au suicide surviennent à nouveau dans l’avenir. On cherche ici à améliorer le bien-être de la personne et réduire sa détresse. La réduction du risque suicidaire se fait par l’équipe clinique multidisciplinaire intervenant auprès de la personne.

 

Le Processus AUDIS ne remplace pas le jugement clinique, il le complète et le soutient. Il constitue un cadre pour identifier les informations pertinentes, et orienter la décision clinique sur le niveau de danger, le type de risque et pour mettre en place les interventions nécessaires.

Télécharger l’outil complet: Processus clinique de prévention du suicide auprès des personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA: Un ensemble d’outils cliniques de soutien à l’intervention auprès des personnes ayant une DI ou un TSA et des comportements suicidaires.